Domain Registration

SAG Awards 2021: ‘Trial of the Chicago 7’ wins top ensemble, Chadwick Boseman named best actor

  • April 05, 2021

Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Aaron Sorkin’s courtroom drama “Chicago 7” won best ensemble cast in a motion picture, while “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” co-stars Boseman and Viola Davis snagged best lead actor honors at the SAG Awards. For the first time, actors of color swept all four individual film categories.

Boseman’s widow, Simone Ledward Boseman, quoted her husband when accepting his award: “If you see the world unbalanced, be a crusader that pushes heavily on the seesaw of the mind.”

Road to Oscars:‘Trial of the Chicago 7,’ ‘Da 5 Bloods,’ ‘Minari,’ ‘Ma Rainey’ lead SAG Awards nominations

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom star Viola Davis, with husband Julius Tennon at her side, accepts the award for best female actor in a movie at the Screen Actors Guild Awards.

In addition, Daniel Kaluuya won best supporting actor for “Judas and the Black Messiah” and Yuh-jung Youn earned supporting actress for “Minari,” becoming the first Asian winner of an individual SAG acting award for a movie.

“This one’s for Chadwick Boseman and this one’s for Fred Hampton,” Kaluuya said in his acceptance speech honoring the “Da 5 Bloods” actor he was competing against, as well as Kaluuya’s role as Hampton, the real-life Illinois Black Panther chairman he portrays in “Black Messiah.” 

Check out all the SAG winners (in bold) from Sunday’s livestreamed pre-show and televised special.


Ensemble cast

“Da 5 Bloods”

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”


“One Night in Miami”

WINNER: “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

The cast of The Trial of the Chicago 7 – from top left, John Carroll Lynch, Sacha Baron Cohen, Alex Sharp, Eddie Redmayne, Michael Keaton, Mark Rylance, Frank Langella and Kelvin Harrison Jr. – accept the award for outstanding film cast in virtual style at the SAG Awards.


Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”

WINNER: Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Anthony Hopkins, “The Father”

Gary Oldman, “Mank”

Steven Yeun, “Minari”


Amy Adams, “Hillbilly Elegy”

WINNER: Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman”

Frances McDormand, “Nomadland”

Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman”

Supporting actor

Sacha Baron Cohen, “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods”

WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Jared Leto, “The Little Things”

Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami”

Minari star Yuh-jung Youn is overcome with emotion as she wins best supporting actress at the SAG Awards.

Supporting female actor

Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

Glenn Close, “Hillbilly Elegy”

Olivia Colman, “The Father”

WINNER: Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari”

Helena Zengel, “News of the World”

Stunt ensemble

“Da 5 Bloods”


“News of the World”

“The Trial of the Chicago 7”

WINNER: “Wonder Woman 1984”

The cast of The Crown accept the award for outstanding TV drama ensemble at the SAG Awards.


Ensemble in a drama series

“Better Call Saul”


WINNER: “The Crown”

“Lovecraft Country”


Ensemble in a comedy series

“Dead to Me”

“The Flight Attendant”

“The Great”

WINNER: “Schitt’s Creek”

“Ted Lasso”

Actor in a drama series

WINNER: Jason Bateman, “Ozark”

Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”

Josh O’Connor, “The Crown”

Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”

Regé-Jean Page, “Bridgerton”

Actress in a drama series

WINNER: Gillian Anderson, “The Crown”

Olivia Colman, “The Crown”

Emma Corrin, “The Crown”

Julia Garner, “Ozark”

Laura Linney, “Ozark”

Jason Sudeikis accepts the award for best comedy actor for Ted Lasso during this year's SAG Awards virtual ceremony.

Actor in a comedy series

Nicholas Hoult, “The Great”

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

Eugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

WINNER: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Ramy Youssef, “Ramy”

Actress in a comedy series

Christina Applegate, “Dead to Me”

Linda Cardellini, “Dead to Me”

Kaley Cuoco, “The Flight Attendant”

Annie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek”

WINNER: Catherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”

Actor in a TV movie or miniseries

Bill Camp, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”

Hugh Grant, “The Undoing”

Ethan Hawke, “The Good Lord Bird”

WINNER: Mark Ruffalo, “I Know This Much Is True”

Actress in a TV movie or miniseries

Cate Blanchett, “Mrs. America”

Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You”

Nicole Kidman, “The Undoing”

WINNER: Anya Taylor-Joy, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Kerry Washington, “Little Fires Everywhere”

Stunt ensemble

“The Boys”

“Cobra Kai”

“Lovecraft Country”

WINNER: “The Mandalorian”


Article source:

Related News


Find best hotel offers