Domain Registration

Players from major professional sports leagues in North America who have opted out of playing 2020 seasons

  • July 11, 2020

With the coronavirus pandemic placing a major emphasis on health and safety issues, many professional athletes have chosen not to return to their particular sports — or even play at all — this season.

Here are the dates in which the major professional sports leagues in North America are expected to resume or begin play: Major League Soccer (July 8); Major League Baseball (July 23); Women’s National Basketball Association (July 24); National Basketball Association (July 30); National Hockey League (Aug. 1); and National Football League (Sept. 10). 

Below is a list broken down by sport of those who have made the decision to opt out of participating in 2020. Those denoted with an asterisk have decided to not play due to non-coronavirus-related reasons, such as to focus on social justice reform or personal reasons.

MLB (11)

C Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants 

SP David Price, Los Angeles Dodgers

1B Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals 

SP Joe Ross, Washington Nationals

OF Nick Markakis, Atlanta Braves 

SP Felix Hernandez, Atlanta Braves

SP Mike Leake, Arizona Diamondbacks

C Wellington Castillo, Washington Nationals

OF/1B Ian Desmond, Colorado Rockies

SP Tyson Ross, free agent

Michael Kopech, Chicago White Sox

Guard Victor Oladipo will not return to the Indiana Pacers when the team resumes its season in the NBA bubble on Aug. 1 in Orlando.

NBA (8)

G Victor Oladipo, Indiana Pacers

C DeAndre Jordan, Brooklyn Nets

F Wilson Chandler, Brooklyn Nets

F Trevor Ariza, Portland Trail Blazers

G Avery Bradley, Los Angeles Lakers

F Davis Bertans, Washington Wizards

C Willie Cauley-Stein, Dallas Mavericks

F Thabo Sefolosha, Houston Rockets

WNBA (12)

Rebecca Allen, New York Liberty

Liz Cambage, Las Vegas Aces

*Natasha Cloud, Washington Mystics 

*Tiffany Hayes, Atlanta Dream 

Jonquel Jones, Connecticut Sun 

*Renee Montgomery, Atlanta Dream 

Chiney Ogwumike, Los Angeles Sparks 

LaToya Sanders, Washington Mystics 

Kristi Toliver, Los Angeles Sparks

*Cecilia Zandalasini, Minnesota Lynx

*Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx (announced in January)

Asia Durr, New York Liberty

MLS (1)

Carlos Vela, Los Angeles FC 

NHL (1)

Travis Hamonic, Calgary Flames   

Article source:

Related News


Find best hotel offers