Baseball Hall Of Fame Welcomes Historic Class Of 2015 (But Not Mike Piazza)

National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.
National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The Hall calls have been made.

Former Major League Baseball stars Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio have been elected to a Baseball Hall Of Fame2015 Hall of Fame ballotthird coming on a ballotcame adult dual votes short

Welcome to immortality. The

— MLB (@MLB) January 6, 2015

The four-member category that will be inducted on Jul 26 is a largest given 1955 when Joe DiMaggio, Gabby Hartnett, Ted Lyons and Dazzy Vance were elected. It was a initial time that a writers had respected 3 pitchers in a same election. Players need to seem on 75 percent of BBWA ballots in a singular year to benefit access into a Hall. Johnson, a 5-time Cy Young Award winnerappeared on 97.3 percent of ballotsa 3-time Cy Young Award winnerappeared on 91.1 percent of ballotsa Cy Young Award winnerappeared on 82.9 percent of a ballotsmember of a 3,000-hit bar who won 4 Gold Glove Awardsappeared on 82.7 percent of ballots

Mike Piazza, a 12-time All-Star preference with some-more home runs than any other catcher in MLB history, came adult 28 votes brief of choosing in 2015, appearing on 69.9% of ballotsMLB’s Mitchell Report on PED usedogged by suspicions that he might have used

Along with Piazza, Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines were a usually former players to seem on some-more than 50 percent of ballots. Several superstars from a sports’ supposed “Steroids Era” sojourn on a list though distant from election, particularly Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens.

2015 Hall Of Fame Voting Results, around The Associated Press:

Randy Johnson 534 (97.3, Pedro Martinez 500 (91.9), John Smoltz 455 (82.9), Craig Biggio 454 (82.7), Mike Piazza 384 (69.9), Jeff Bagwell 306 (55.7), Tim Raines 302 (55.0), Curt Schilling 215 (39.2), Roger Clemens 206 (37.5), Barry Bonds 202 (36.8), Lee Smith 166 (30.2), Edgar Martinez 148 (27.0), Alan Trammell 138 (25.1), Mike Mussina 135 (24.6), Jeff Kent 77 (14.0), Fred McGriff 71 (12.9), Larry Walker 65 (11.8), Gary Sheffield 64 (11.7), Mark McGwire 55 (10.0), x-Don Mattingly 50 (9.1), Sammy Sosa 36 (6.6), Nomar Garciaparra 30 (5.5), Carlos Delgado 21 (3.8), Troy Percival 4 (0.7), Aaron Boone and Tom Gordon 2 (0.4), Darin Erstad 1 (0.2) and Rich Aurilia, Tony Clark, Jermaine Dye, Cliff Floyd, Brian Giles, Eddie Guardado and Jason Schmidt (0).

Article source:

Leave a Reply