It’s official: Yukoners going to polls on Nov. 7

The suspense was already long gone — Yukon Premier Darrell Pasloski had no choice but to call the next territorial election this fall.

Pasloski has announced that Yukoners will go to the polls on Nov. 7. A Yukon Party news release says Pasloski spoke to Yukon’s commissioner Friday morning, to officially dissolve the legislature, beginning the official campaign period.  

The conservative-leaning Yukon Party is seeking a fourth consecutive term in office, and a second with Pasloski as leader. The party has been in power since 2002.

Yukon election 2016

Yukon Green Party leader Frank de Jong, NDP leader Liz Hanson, Yukon Party leader Darrell Pasloski, and Liberal leader Sandy Silver. (CBC)

Looking to dislodge the Yukon Party from the seat of power are Liz Hanson’s opposition NDP, and Sandy Silver’s Liberal Party. 

Frank de Jong’s Green Party is also a player, but with candidates in only five ridings the Greens have no hope of forming government. 

‘Let’s just get this election over with’

The official election call may feel like little more than a formality to most Yukoners at this point. Candidates were door-knocking as early as this summer, while the three party leaders have gradually amplified their campaign-like rhetoric in recent weeks.

“Get on with it and let’s just get this election over with,” said Lisa Hutton when asked for her thoughts on Main Street Thursday.

Nomination meetings have already been held in most of the territory’s 19 ridings, so the list of candidates is largely set.

The Yukon Party and Liberals have full slates of nominated candidates, while the NDP has yet to name a candidate in the Vuntut Gwitchin riding.

The nomination period officially closes on the tenth day of the election period. 

Yukon legislative assembly

There are 19 seats to fill in the Yukon legislative assembly. Before the election call, there were 11 Yukon Party MLAs, 6 NDP members, one Liberal and one Independant. (CBC)

Article source: